The First Independent STEAM School in Orange County, CA
Serving Early Childhood to 8th Grade

School Committee

The St. John’s School Committee is a group of volunteers charged with the long-term strategic vision and financial health of the School. These volunteers are parents of current students, parents of alumni, members of the St. John’s Episcopal Church, and members of our community who believe in the vision for and value of a St. John’s education.

The School Committee’s primary duty and responsibility is to ensure the School remains faithful to the highest demands of both the Mission and the academic community. The School Committee, as a group or individually, is not involved with the day-to-day operation of the School, but instead is responsible for:

  • Establishing policies and academic goals and objectives for the School, and an organizational structure of the School to provide clear delineation of authority and proper reporting procedures from the School to the Mission;
  • Monitoring the progress of the School in carrying out its policies, goals, and budgets;
  • Hiring and being responsible for the care, support, and evaluation of the Head of School;
  • Preparing an annual School operating budget, reflecting tuition policy and budgeted expenditures for School and School-related programs, for submission to and ultimate approval by the Bishop’s Committee;
  • Establishing fundraising policy for the School, and supervising all School-related fundraising activities;
  • Maintaining effective communication with the faculty, parents, Bishop’s Committee, Church members, and the community-at-large;
  • Assuring that the physical plant is adequate for the School’s programs, and that adequate reserves are established and maintained for the maintenance and improvement of the physical plant; and
  • Exercising such authority as may be required (consistent with the Constitution and Canons of the Episcopal Church and of the Diocese, the policies established by the Bishop’s Committee, and the law) for the proper and efficient operation of the School.

Christopher Potter, Erica Bogardus, Damian Mate, Charles D’Arcy, Stephanie Peters, Kelli Cheshire, Mike Casey, Celia Coulter, Patty Cyr, Laura Breaux, Natalie Boyd, Scott Vickers, Allen McNamee

Not pictured:  Andy Sulick, Russ Hennings, Shannon Wernemar, Perry Valaskantjis, Andrew Schneider

2021-2022 Members

School Committee Feedback


First Name
Last Name